Meet the Board

NAMI Board of Directors, 2015–2016

The 16 members of NAMI's Board of Directors are elected by NAMI members to provide strategic guidance in the fulfillment of NAMI's mission to provide advocacy, education, support and public awareness so that all individuals and families affected by mental illness can build better lives. 

Each year, five NAMI members nominated by Affiliates and State Organizations are elected to the NAMI Board of Directors. Additionally, members can submit bylaws amendments and resolutions to be considered each year during the elections at the annual Convention.

Together and with input from all members, they make policy to govern NAMI, determine NAMI's official position on matters of public policy, set the budget and priorities of the national office, and develop strategic plans to guide organizational development.

If you would like to raise an issue or bring a question to the NAMI Board of Directors, please contact them at This email address will route to NAMI staff who will make sure the information is passed to the relevant Board member, committee chair or staff person if staff is better equipped to provide a faster response.

The minutes from meetings of the Board of Directors are made publically available to ensure transparency.

Executive Committee

Marilyn Ricci, M.S., R.D., President

Janet Edelman, M.S., First Vice President

Ron Morton, M.A., Second Vice President

Dana Foglesong, Secretary

Gary Mihelish, D.M.D., Treasurer


Lacey Berumen, Ph.D.C., M.N.M., C.A.C. III

Joyce Burland, Ph.D.

Victoria Gonzalez

Jim Hayes, M.D.

Dorothy Hendrickson

Linda E. Jensen, Ph.D., R.N., M.N.

Adrienne Kennedy, M.A.

Steve Pitman, J.D.

Bob Spada, M.B.A.

Gloria M. Walker, M.B.A.

Michael Weaver, M.S.Ed.