Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards

The Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards program allows NAMI members, NAMI State Organizations and NAMI Affiliates throughout the country to honor the exceptional contributions that many psychiatrists make to improve the lives of people living with mental health conditions. 

Since the Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards program was established in 1990, more than 1,000 awards have been presented. Many psychiatrists have described this award as one of the most important honors that they can receive because it comes from the people who need their help the most.

All of the nominations are submitted through a NAMI State Organization or NAMI Affiliate office. For more information about NAMI's Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards program, contact Teri Brister.

NAMI honored 9 doctors for the NAMI 2018 Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards.


Janice Landy, MD


Marsden McGuire, MD, MBA


Elizabeth Reeve, MD
Katharine Nelson, MD

New York

Tarun Kumar, MD


John Rozel, MD, MSL


Stephan Heckers MD


Stephen M Strakowski, MD


Kent Roundy, MD