Press Releases

NAMICon 2020 Virtual Event Honors Mental Health Leaders

Jul 15 2020

Arlington, VA  During NAMICon 2020, one of the nation’s largest gatherings of mental health advocates, NAMI presented awards honoring exemplary leadership at the national, state and local level. NAMI proudly honors the following individuals and organizations for their outstanding work and commitment to the mental health movement. Below is a list of award winners with information on the specific rewards and the recipients.

Rona and Ken Purdy Award for Distinguished Service: This award recognizes the sustained contributions of an individual or organization to raise public awareness, reduce stigma and advance our mission to build better lives for people with mental illness and their families.

  • Joshua A. Gordon, M.D., Ph.D., Director, National Institute of Mental Health
  • Linda Brady, Ph.D., Director, Division of Neuroscience and Basic Behavioral Science, National Institute of Mental Health

NAMI Lifetime Achievement Award: This award recognizes individuals who, over the course of their career or lifetime, have advanced the NAMI mission to build better lives for people living with mental illness and their families.

  • Chuck Harman, Chief Development Officer, NAMI
  • Lynne Saunders, Senior Advisor, Field Advancement (Retired), NAMI

Lionel Aldridge Champions Award: This award recognizes an individual with mental illness who demonstrates courage, leadership and service in their work to promote recovery and ensure that all people with mental illness live full lives in their communities. NAMI’s highest peer award is given in the spirit of our organization’s ongoing commitment and devotion to supporting a movement and community that is inclusive of people with mental illness, their family members and friends.

  • Bill Carruthers, NAMI Georgia, Recovery Council Affiliate Chair and Board member

Joyce Burland Inspiration Award: This award recognizes a NAMI staff member or volunteer who has demonstrated creativity, dedication and resourcefulness to offer or expand NAMI’s national education programs, and who has served as an inspiration to families, individuals with a mental health condition or the general public through their work with NAMI programs.

  • Betsey O’Brien, Executive Director, NAMI Piedmont, Tri-County, South Carolina

Richard T. and Betsy Greer Advocacy Award: This award honors NAMI advocates whose leadership and vision has advanced policy and advocacy efforts that impact individuals living with mental illness and their families.

  • Peggy Huppert, Executive Director, NAMI Iowa

NAMI Young Leader Award: This award recognizes young adults who exemplify exceptional leadership among their peers to foster a culture of recovery and resiliency that helps young people with mental illness live full lives in their communities.

  • Patrick Dowling, NAMI New Hampshire

NAMI Multicultural Outreach Award: This award honors effective efforts to ensure that diversity and inclusion are high priorities within NAMI.

  • Shanti Das, Founder, Silence the Shame Foundation

Sam Cochran Criminal Justice Award: This award recognizes an exemplary individual whose work in the criminal justice system has improved the fair and humane treatment of people with mental illness.

  • Pat Strode, GPSTC CIT Advocate Coordinator, The Georgia Public Safety Training Center

Gloria Huntley Award: This award recognizes exemplary advocacy work by an individual or organization at the national or local level.

  • Terry Kupers, M.D., The Wright Institute, Berkeley, California

Ken Steele Award: This award recognizes outstanding contributions by an individual living with mental illness to improve the quality of life, increase empowerment and promote integration and inclusion for their peers.

  • Lucy Wilmer, Secretary, NAMI Peer Leadership Council, Volunteer and Peer Leader, NAMI North Carolina

Outstanding NAMI Affiliate Award: This award is bestowed upon a NAMI Affiliate that demonstrates exceptional leadership, strong community presence, outreach to diverse communities and exemplary stewardship of the NAMI mission.

  • NAMI Greenville, South Carolina

Outstanding NAMI State Organization Award: The Outstanding NAMI State Organization Award recognizes exemplary efforts to carry out the NAMI mission.

  • NAMI Keystone, Pennsylvania

NAMI Exemplary Psychiatrist Awards: This award honors psychiatrists who have made exceptional contributions to improve the lives of people living with mental health conditions.

  • Kathryn Cullen, M.D.
  • Sandra M. DeJong, M.D., MSc
  • Lesley Dickson, M.D.
  • Neil Kaye, M.D.
  • Carmen McIntyre Leon, M.D.
  • Kenneth Rosenberg, M.D.
  • Bruce J. Schwartz, M.D.
  • John Simon, M.D
  • Altha Stewart, M.D.
  • Fuller Torrey, M.D.
  • Robert Trestman, M.D.
  • Sarah Vinson, M.D.
  • Glenda Wrenn, M.D.
  • Santharam Yadati, M.D.

The National Alliance on Mental Illness is the nation’s largest grassroots mental health organization dedicated to improving the lives of individuals and families affected by mental illness.

Join the conversation at | | | #NotAlone and follow the convention at #NAMICON2020